But what about the Protein?

When I embarked on a vegan “trial”, I had an expectation that I would stay vegan, except for special occasions. I wasn’t a strict vegan, many times consuming eggs in baked goods or in soup, but I kept it up for 5 weeks, minus 2 days in the middle.

I began the trial in early May for health and energy reasons, and also because I was starting to dislike the taste of meat. Becoming vegan was not difficult, as my vibration was already aligned with a vegan.

Unfortunately, I cannot say that I felt many noticeable effects when I turned vegan. My energy levels, sleeping habits, and weight all were same as before. My trial ended when I got to guangzhou, where my many relatives invited me for dim sum and dinner. Of course, meat is in the culture of china, and as in almost every other country in the world, it is awkward not to eat meat.

There are many responses to the question of protein, though none are convincing to the meat eater. There’s the traditional “I eat tofu, beans and take protein powder”, and there’s those who avoid the question: “Humans don’t need that much protein: vegan’s never become protein deficient, but many Americans get protein overdose.” Though both responses are true, they have never really satisfied the inquirer, because of one simple belief that everyone holds: Protein helps your muscles grow, and makes you stronger and healthier.

Similarly, people like Colin Campbell argue that drinking milk is toxic, makes you sick, and isn’t necessary for growth. But everyone knows, or at least have been told, that milk makes your bones and teeth strong, and helps you grow muscle and become tall. I cannot but support this argument, as it has become evident to me that my daily intake of cereal at breakfast has given me above average height.

*

To meat companies, it makes sense that cows take growth hormones so that they grow big and meaty. It is a well-known fact that these growth hormones cause animals to become sick, after which antibiotics are required to revive them.

For many, the argument is whether consuming these animals, and thus the growth hormones and antibodies, is detrimental to health. But the meat industry tells us that animal consumption is safe, so it is futile to argue against their “science”. Instead, we should question our own race’s need for growth hormones.

Should the human race ingest growth hormones, such as protein, similarly to how cows take rBST? In other words, is being big and strong and tall really so important, or is it our cultural propaganda encouraging us to beef up our kids just like how companies beef up cows and chickens?

There are many similarities between the growth hormones taken by animals, and the protein compounds eaten by humans: they both make us bigger, and they both make us sick. When I ended my vegan trial, the second day that I ate meat pimples had already grown on my nose, and I slept longer than usual. Many times, I feel fat and protein in my stomach weighing my energy down. I have become what I was before: a consumer of growth hormones—protein. I must now listen obediently to society’s encouragement of my eating more of this growth hormone, and ignore the well-established evidence that shows how this growth hormone, supports cancer growth, increases cardiovascular problems, and shortens my life.

A day in the life of the protein-eating vegan.

